Archie and Thanks for the Books

I use Grammarly for proofreading because I want Veronica to love me.
– Archie

We’ve been having an Archie issue in this house. Archie and his pals (my fave is Jughead) hide under pillows and on top of bathroom shelves. Now, I have nothing against those folks. When I was a kid, I wasn’t allowed to have comics, and so I spent hours reading them at my best friend’s house. And, periodically, my kids surprise me with science facts they’ve learned from Archie. (If you have a message you want to get across to girls, have Betty know it, Veronica act dumb about it, and Archie, who ought to know better, swoon over the wrong female.)

But Archie didn’t save my life. Books did. They gave me an escape, they gave me an outlet, and they gave me answers by providing an alternative moral universe to the one in which I was raised.

Today I got no bargains, but I had the satisfaction of writing 736 words. I don’t know, yet, if they are very good words, but I am doing my best to return to the universe the immeasurable gift I was given.

So I can’t quite get myself on board to give thanks on a Thursday and then join a feeding frenzy on Friday, trying to get in first and beat out all comers for the deal.

I think, instead, when my children get home from school today, I will offer each of them a book of their choice to be purchased at full price. The Archies are having a rest in my house anyway.

One response

  1. I loved comics when I was a girl. And I loved books too. Reading in any form is wonderful. My son actually loved audio books most of all, or me reading to him. Congratulations on the 700+ words! That’s a good day’s work there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

