The Next Big Thing: What I’m Working On

Goddess Durga by Joydeep

Thanks to Lauren B. Davis for tagging me on this great questionnaire for writers. I have to confess that I’m participating in this more because I want to hear what other writers are doing than wanting to write about myself–but I will do my best to wrestle the questions to the ground.

I know you’ll forgive me if my replies are a bit, let’s say, idiosyncratic.

What is your working title of your book?
I can’t tell you yet because it’s too far from complete. I usually file my work under the names of the protagonist(s). Web of Angels was filed under “All and S,” The River Midnight was filed under “Blaszka,” (the name of the village), The Singing Fire under “Nehama & Emilia.”

Where did the idea come from for the book?
I was snuggling with my children, watching a video, and I thought, “Oh I want to write a book that has this wonderful feeling.”

What genre does your book fall under?
I leave that up to others to decide. The whole genre thing is immensely confusing to me. It’s a bit like sexuality–I think it falls on a continuum but our society is uncomfortable with slippery categories and prefers to box them.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I’d rather tell you who I’d pick for Web of Angels. Jodie Foster to direct and play Sharon, Alec, Lyssa, Callisto, Ally, and the Overseer. I think she’d have the skill and talent for it.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
A smart comfort read.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
The inimitable Dean Cooke represents my work.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
You have to realize that I flounder around a lot before I find my story. I always want to be writing, and so during the last 2 years, during the publishing process and flurry of post-pub promotion for Web of Angels, I have several times thought I was working on a book or several books, only to put them aside for something else. But I think I’m onto something this time. I’ll have a 1st draft ready in a few weeks, which will represent about 6 months work. That means nothing though because the first draft of Web of Angels took only 3 months. The next 9 drafts took years, and when all was said and done, there were eight years between Web of Angels and my previous novel.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
I don’t know–I just write what I have to write. Then other people answer that question for me.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?
I’ve wanted to write a fun book ever since I finished my first novel, which was rather a reach for a first novel and exhausted me. But there were other stories calling to me. Perhaps this is a gift from God, dessert after the hefty meal of Web of Angels.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
It won’t come in a brown wrapper and readers will be able to leave it on the table without gasping if their kids pick it up and curiously flip through it.

Now it’s my turn to tag other writers. I ought to be able to find several, but everyone I’ve contacted has either done this meme or isn’t ready to do it yet. So I’ve tagged just two and am really looking forward to their posts!

Alison Gresik

Karen Connelly

9 responses

  1. Jacqueline Clements | Reply

    Thanks Lilian! I read this with my morning coffee and loved your responses; am so looking forward to seeing this next one “on the shelf”.

    btw Am reading “Web of Angels” over again!

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed it Jacqueline. I’m looking forward to that, too!

  2. Great stuff, Lilian. Thanks for participating!

    1. And thanks for tagging me, Lauren!

  3. I am so looking forward to the new book!

  4. Well whatever it is, I’ll be reading it, that’s for sure!

    1. That’s so nice! I love your vote of confidence.

  5. I can’t wait to read it :)

    1. Thanks Becca! Big smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

