Searching for the Canadian Voice – Imprint

Last week I was at the Kitchener Writers Festival, where I was interviewed by a delightful young woman, Catherine Vendryes, who is an English Major at the University of Waterloo, a slender spectacled smart girl, armed with steno pad and digital recorder. I loved her questions. Here is her write-up:

Lillian Nattel, bestselling author of Web of Angels, could not be more supportive of striking out to live your dreams. She took the Record Author’s Stage and told her tale of achieving her dream of being an author, the long way.

“As a young adult, I became depressed and what do you do when you’re depressed? You become an accountant,” she explained cheekily. After living in the world of accountancy for 10 years, she quit as soon as her first book sold. Web of Angels is her third book and turned into a bestseller after just one week on the market.

After her talk, Nattel had some sound words of advice.

“If you have a dream, pursue it. If there is something that is creative within you, do it. And don’t let anything stand in your way or stop you,” said Nattel. “Yes, you have to pay bills. Yes, you have to make a living, but make [your dream] your priority. Don’t give up on it because that’s what makes you alive.”

An ambassador of Canadian literature, Nattel could not have described the Canadian scene any better.

“It’s different from readers, as well as writers, in other countries. I think that it’s really diverse, it’s exciting, it’s innovative, it’s fabulous,” said Nattel.

Searching for the Canadian Voice – Imprint.

6 responses

  1. Yes, you’re a fine role model – a woman who has her husband and children and a home – and yet makes a significant contribution to our understanding of the world through literature. So good to hear how well Web of Angels is doing.

    1. Thanks so much, Mary! I’ve been so busy writing that I’ve been holed up for a while. But these festivals are drawing me back out among people!

  2. I really needed to hear those words right now, Lilian so thank you for the inspiration. And it’s wonderful to see you in total command of the podium. You go, girl! :)

    1. Thanks so much, Litlove. Anytime you need any encouragement, I’m happy to provide! I haven’t had a chance to post yet about the Kingston Writers Festival, where I was this weekend, but it was so invigorating I was writing between events.

  3. I am with Litlove – I could not have read your wise words at a better time, Lilian. And I am THRILLED by the ongoing success of Web of Angels – now I’m home I can finally order my copy!! xx

    1. You’re home! How does it feel to be back? I’m so glad what I wrote was encouraging for you, too. I am cheering you on! And also very glad that you are going to order Web of Angels. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

