More on Walmart

I dashed off yesterday’s post in haste and want to add a few thoughts. I’m not in favour of an economic model in which cheap prices depress wages (and working conditions), which require cheap prices, reinforcing the cycle. But what I am heartened by is that a subject which only the Canadian publishers, as yet, have been brave enough to fly–dissociative identity disorder and child exploitation, not far-flung, but of the homegrown variety–has been taken up and embraced by ordinary people in ordinary places. And here and now, Walmart is ordinary and ubiquitous. That Walmart featured Web of Angels, that people have been buying it, pushing it back onto the Globe bestseller list, with no ads, no hype, not even a prize (yet!), is heart-warming. It gives me hope in all sorts of ways. People can be startlingly idiotic–and people can be strikingly intelligent. And just think of it. Of all places, Walmart demonstrates that by featuring Web of Angels. Doesn’t that give you hope?

Swallows peeking out of nests, old water processing plant, Toronto beach (click to enlarge)

 

7 responses

  1. So incredibly wonderful and deserved, Lilian. I can’t imagine this ever happening in my world. But I can celebrate it for you, with you!

    1. Thank you! But oh, Beth, your latest has been reviewed in the NYT and so many other amazing places! You never know…Small Damages in Target next.

  2. I am so happy for you both that your talent is being recognized and your work be read and valued. That’s the bottom line in the world of writing :)

  3. Congratulations on the novel doing so well — that’s wonderful! I can understand feeling ambivalent about Walmart, but in this case they did something right and that should be celebrated.

  4. Yes, that give me hope. I’m not one who shops at Walmart, but I do think when companies begin to do what’s right instead of what’s best for the bottom line, THAT needs to be celebrated (and the word needs to get out). Anyway, glad the book is doing well (have yet to read it, but, never fear, I will!).

  5. Just really glad to hear your novel is doing so well, Lilian. Personally, I think it’s because it’s a fine novel, and Walmart is just a secondary concern (they’ll sell what will sell). But whatever the reasons, the success is thoroughly deserved.

  6. Yes, Lilian, while I do really understand your diplomatic equivocation, I also think this is great news for you and a real chance to connect with an even broader audience. Never a bad thing to have good writing in the mix, after all.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers

