‘Small Damages,’ by Beth Kephart

“Dreamlike” is one word for Beth Kephart’s latest novel, “Small Damages,” in which an American teenager is exiled to Spain after she gets pregnant. Her percolating story emerges through Kep­hart’s lilting prose in that same hazy way you’d meander through the narrow white streets of Seville in the noontime sun or confront the hot, dry winds, redolent of foreign smells and flavors, on a ranch in the Spanish countryside. The reader is lost and found and lost and found again.

via ‘Small Damages,’ by Beth Kephart – NYTimes.com.

I couldn’t be more pleased or agree more completely with every note of praise for Beth’s writing. I have been following Beth’s blog and work for the last few years, and it’s been my privilege to do so. Beth doesn’t compromise her work or the beauty of language despite conventional “wisdom” (there’s a misuse of a word and an oxymoron!). I can’t clap loud enough for the true wisdom of the NYTBR in bringing this to the attention of all.

Her work engages adults and teens alike, those who already know that they love well written characters and beautiful language and those who discover it through her work. Again I say hurray!!! If you haven’t already ordered Small Damages, please do!

3 responses

  1. thank you, LN, for always being there. Much love to you.

  2. I confess that although I often see Beth commenting here, I’ve never read one of her books. I don’t think she is as widely available in the UK, but I will look out for her!

  3. I know just how you feel, Lilian – that’s exactly how we all react whenever you have a success!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

