Saving The Children | Tales from the Reading Room

Inside our minds great forces rage and collide and strange convoluted processes are developed in order to avoid internal obstacles and keep the status quo. Former versions of ourselves wander through the inner labyrinth, exerting terrific pressure on our decision making and often dictating reactions in illogical ways. We have this charming, quaint idea that we’re in control of ourselves, but it only takes a little stress, conflict or fear to make a mockery of that. It’s a jungle in there.

Lilian Nattel’s latest novel, Web of Angels, goes further than any novel I think I’ve ever read in dramatising the strange brilliance of inner life.

via Saving The Children | Tales from the Reading Room.

I was a bit nervous about what the marvelous Litlove would make of my latest, though of course I was thrilled she would make the effort to order a copy from across the pond. So it is with the greatest delight I can say thank you to Litlove and urge anyone who has a moment to read the review at the link above.

4 responses

  1. I absolutely loved it – and just want to tell the rest of the world to read it!

    1. Thank you Litlove!! That means a lot to me. And it’s also how books pass from hand to hand. My agent told me that the single most important factor for a book’s success is word of mouth.

  2. maryarmstrong365 | Reply

    For me, Web of Angels is an important book to get out into the world and share with readers how Sharon and so many others like her deal with every day life in spite of their invisible wounds resulting from traumatic childhoods. To her neighbours Sharon looks like any other mother of three children. Inside Sharon’s separate personality parts have come into being to help her survive what was intolerable and inescapable. We can’t help but admire and appreciate the way Sharon’s personality gives her added awareness when there’s a dirty secret to detect. Nattel portrays her heroine with understanding and respect. A worthwhile read.

    1. Thanks so much for visiting my blog, Mary. I really appreciate your comment. I would just add that Sharon is an alter as well. All of the personalities are equally needed and their life belongs to all of them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

