*Chips and Cookies

There is a reason that most people can’t stop at one chip or one chocolate chip cookie. And it is not about pigging out. Honest. The reason is in the brain.

Back in the old days, which lasted hundreds of thousands of years, from caves to castles, most people worked hard for their food. (That by the sweat of your brow thing.) Fat, salt and sugar were scarce and precious and healthy in the forms and quantities available. Since it wasn’t readily available, our brains were hardwired to seek it out and make the most of it when found.

Now comes the very recent, historically speaking, era of abundance. The problem isn’t will power or laziness or ignorance. It is that our brain hasn’t kept up with the speed of change (in this as in so much else) and the food industry has worked at getting the perfect combo to take advantage of this.

Dr. David A. Kessler was head of the FDA in the U.S. and fought big tobacco. So he is well aware of how marketing can create and sustain a market for consuming poison. In The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite, he explores how the food industry has arrived at the “bliss point” by combining fat, sugar, salt and ease of chewing into the perfect combinations to be irresistible to our poor old brain, suddenly removed from the scarcity that it evolved to survive.

As The Situationist report:

The result is that chain restaurants like Chili’s cook up “hyper-palatable food that requires little chewing and goes down easily,” he notes. And Dr. Kessler reports that the Snickers bar, for instance, is “extraordinarily well engineered.” As we chew it, the sugar dissolves, the fat melts and the caramel traps the peanuts so the entire combination of flavors is blissfully experienced in the mouth at the same time.

Full story here.

I think the moral of the story is make your own. You can’t stuff the genie back in the bottle, you can only channel her/him. Now I’m not skilled in the domestic arts as anyone who knows me knows. My husband is the chef in our family thank goodness. But I like my characters to have skills that I lack and then they inspire me. I know this is a bit odd, but then anyone who decides to write fiction must be. My current protagonist cleans when stressed (something I can assure you I do not!) and bakes for fun. I have taken a leaf out of her book to make my kids’ milkshakes and try my hand at muffins. After this article, I think I am going to try chocolate chip cookies.

I can’t keep my kids from them, but let’s see if I can make yummy yet unblissful ones with fare-trade chocolate chips. I’m betting that the fragrance of home baked will outdo the seductive power of the food industry. Toll house anyone?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

8 responses

  1. Home-made cookies are a thousand times better than shop-bought ones, every time (although I do love the odd Snickers bar….). I much prefer eating things where I know precisely how much sugar and butter have gone into each portion! (Which is usually quite a lot, if it’s me baking, but I’m sure it’s still better than the mass-produced stuff that floods the market.)

    1. Rachel, I do too. And then I can modify it to my taste. More chocolate chips and less sugar. :)

  2. Can I have some cookies?

    Please?

    1. I found a good recipe, Beth. I’ll post it if it works out!

  3. I love cookies. But I’m also pretty good at stopping at two. Home-baked or store-bought, I’m really not fussy about baked treats in general, but nothing – and I mean nothing – beats the aroma of something sweet and glorious emanating from one’s own oven. Yummy. This makes me want to get baking… it’s been too long!

    1. Di, I still haven’t got around to the cookies, but I have a new recipe for whole wheat muffins I’m going to try later.

  4. I’m not much of a baker, but I do make very fine chocolate chip cookies. I manage to stop at one or two – if you don’t count all the dough I eat while making them ;) And yes, they are definitely far superior to any store bought brand.

    I do think it’s important to become more mindful of the ingredients we use in our cooking.

    1. Becca, I agree. We use organic fare-trade chocolate and cocoa powder in our house and it’s not only good for the conscience it is really good chocolate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

