Monet & The Thames

A few years ago, I saw the Turner, Whistler, Monet exhibit at the AGO (Art Gallery of Ontario). I was walking around the gallery, admiring the paintings, and as I turned, came face to face with a painting that filled one wall and brought tears to my eyes. So this is why Monet is famous, I thought. Some paintings don’t translate well into reproductions. The ubiquitous posters of Monet lilies that turn up, like elevator music, wherever soothing is desired, don’t have the beauty of the originals, but are pretty in a kind of bland way. This painting that stunned me and made me stand and look and look, in photographs I’d seen had been just a grey mesh.  But the original! I never knew there could be so many shades of beauty in a grey palette. The story that was told by the silouhettes of the boatmen and the workers on the docks, their bowed backs, their motions only come through in the full sized original. If you get a chance to see it in London or in a travelling exhibit, don’t miss it. This was a lesson to me: the power of grey, the beauty in the most unlikely colour. What love Monet must have had in that paintbrush to make grey astonishing.

The Thames Below Westminster by Claude Monet 1871

The Thames Below Westminster by Claude Monet 1871

2 responses

  1. Yes!! I agree wholeheartedly! I got to see some Monet paintings in Chicago a couple years ago and had a similar experience. I’d walk up to the painting, then back up, then see it from the right and then the left, then look all over again from every angle and distance I could. My only regret was I could not stay longer and just look!

  2. Mine too. It was a travelling exhibit, so I only had that one time to look. Otherwise I like going back again and again to the art gallery so I can spend time with paintings. Right now my favourite is one by Franklin Carmichael. I’ll blog about it another day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

