The Lucky Ones

The Lucky Ones: Our Stories of Adopting Children from China edited by Ann Rauhala. This book was a labour of love for me and all of the contributors. One of my favourite stories in the anthology is about the family whose roof collapsed during the blizzard of 99, just before they left for China. Luckily nobody was hurt. Remember when Mayor Mel Lastman called out the army to dig Toronto out of the snow? (See Mel’s army.)

Speaking of labour, it took about 18 – 22 months from beginning the paperwork to receiving each of my children, adopted from China, in my arms. It’s a different kind of labour from pregnancy and giving birth. Less physical, more prolonged. My body was all mine, but I had to depend on somebody else giving me permission, an official stamp, to be a mom. Lots and lots of forms, paperwork, personal info provided to various kinds of authorities and officials. But after all that, my children were in my arms and nothing else mattered. The daily stuff of life with children took over, diapers, poop, learning to read with the added bonus of adding Chinese culture to our lives. And every day, honestly, after the tantrums are settled and the urgent question of the bake sale addressed, I am incredibly grateful. See ECW Press or FCC-Toronto.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers

